The Library — Ebook

A Catalogue of Wonders

Auteur : Stuart Kells
Publication : 10/04/2018
Langue : English
Éditeur : Counterpoint
ISBN : 9781640090217
Catégories : Science sociale / Anthropologie / Culturelle, Biographie et autobiographie / Mémoires personnels, Histoire / Histoire sociale, Arts et disciplines linguistiques / Bibliothéconomie et sciences de l'information / Général
  • This touching, expansive book is brimming with bibliophilic curiosity, and is inspired by the famous Jorge Luis Borges quote, "I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library."
  • The Library is a fabulous exploration of libraries, real and imaginary, some intact and some lost, from throughout time and from all over the world: The Alexandrian, The Bodleian, The Folger, the Smithsonian, the fabled libraries of Middle Earth, Umberto Eco's medieval library labyrinth, libraries dreamed of by John Donne, Borges, Zafon
  • A true intellectual history of the book is all its manifestations, the book is written as a memoir, first of the author's first days becoming a devoted bookseller, and then ranging on to become a true cultural history of books, publishing, libraries, and readers, as Kells travels over the world and embarks on deep research projects
  • Stuart Kells is an internationally known bibliophile, historian, and writer, whose last book was a history of Penguin, PENGUIN AND THE LANE BROTHERS, THE STORY OF A PUBLISHING REVOLUTION, a Goodreads pick and well-reviewed
  • Not just another book-about-books, but a wonderful choice for its readability, its cultural history, and the great fun of Kells' stories
  • For fans of Stephen Greenblatt's The Swerve, John Baxter's A Pound of Paper, or Matthew Battles' The Library: An Unquiet History.
  • A manifesto for the cultural necessity of libraries, then, now, and in the future
  • Détails du livre numérique

    Format de fichier Protection Services 7switch
    ePub DRM Adobe Digital Edition Aucun

    Commentaires

    23,99 USD
    Offrir